重组及破产清算

简介

泰德威律师事务所是行业内知名出版刊物,如《法律500强》和《钱伯斯亚太法律指南》,所评选的的香港破产清算和重组领域内的顶级/ 第二等级律师事务所。我们的律师专长于涉及全球资产的企业破产管理和复杂重组以及个人破产,尤其擅长诉讼及争议解决的有关问题。

作为一家香港律所,我们的破产及重组律师团队为许多国际客户提供代理服务,涉及多个司法管辖区及行业焦点案件。我们为破产管理人、债权人、董事、股东、私人公司和上市公司、债券持有人以及现金流出现困难的个人提供法律咨询和委托代理服务,在与各类专责审裁处及行业协会的交涉上我们都有丰富的交涉经验。

专业领域

泰德威致力于为香港、中国内地乃至整个亚太地区各行各业的客户提供破产及重组法律服务。

我们的法律咨询和代理服务包括:

  • 在香港进行公司救助
  • 正式及非正式的公司重组和改组
  • 欧洲、北美和亚洲的破产案件
  • 破产管理中的诉讼与非讼事件
  • 香港破产程序和跨境司法管辖问题
  • 具有偿债能力的重组
  • 企业救助,包括债务重组安排 (Scheme of Arrangement, “SOA”)
  • 清盘、临时清盘人、清算及指定持有人
  • 法院批准的接管人和破产接管
  • 个人破产、个人自愿偿债安排和破产受托人
  • 董事职责
  • 诉讼、资产追踪与回收、以及强制执行
  • 债务追收
  • 拖欠贷款、票据和债券、以及不良债务

典型案例

我们的律师执业经验丰富,典型案件包括:

  • 作为首席律师,指导佳兆业集团进行了高达25亿美元离岸债务的复杂重组
  • 就与丹麦宝运石油(OW Bunker Group)香港业务的破产程序相关的诸多事项,为其香港清盘人毕马威(KPMG)代理并提供法律意见
  • 为曼氏金融(MF Global)清盘人毕马威(KPMG)提供法律意见,包括在有关临时清盘人应付的从价税以及如何处理清盘人所招致之费用的聆讯中为毕马威代理
  • 本所在为甘泉香港航空指定临时清盘人一事上发挥了关键作用,并获临时清盘人延聘处理这一多重破产管理事务的各个方面。甘泉业务的国际性和该案的轰动性,也给我们带来前所未有的挑战
  • 成功代理一宗“非相联者”案(现已成为不公平优惠诉讼的首创判例)。在此案中,本所作为清盘人的代理,起诉一名持有该破产公司之银行“具有优先受偿权”的特定资产得益的接管人
  • 为一家销售CD和DVD的网上贸易公司的获委任接管人提供法律意见,该公司在英国一宗被广泛报道的判决中被判败诉而须缴付约4,000万英镑。尽管有英国法院的判决,在破产接管下的交易期内,接管人仍然成功达成一宗出售该公司资产的交易,这在香港实属罕例
  • 在一宗于香港提起法律诉讼的泽西岛信托案中,协助泽西岛法院指定的接管人取得对信托结构内若干实体的控制权,以执行法院就一宗涉及某珠宝交易家族且旷日持久、备受瞩目的婚姻纠纷案而下令向一名被剥夺权利的信托受益人支付数百万英镑的命令
  • 就一家美国零售电子产品制造商与其香港及中国内地合作伙伴之间涉及逾7,000万美元债务的纠纷,为该制造商提供法律意见

国际网络

作为香港一流律所,泰德威与众多海外专业服务提供者建立了良好的关系,其中不乏离岸律师事务所和大型国际清算人。借助这一便捷的国际专家网络,我们的律师可确保客户在往往涉及多司法管辖区的复杂事宜上获得周全的综合建议。

我们的团队

泰德威的破产及重组团队由泰德威律师 (Ian De Witt) 与戴乐斌律师 (Robin Darton) 共同率领,两人均被《法律500强》和《钱伯斯亚太法律指南》等业内刊物评为破产及重组领域首屈一指的律师。

业界赞誉

2020 《亚太法律500强》

“市场上最顶尖的破产团队之一”,由三位泰德威合伙人组成的团队因其“专业经验与实用建议”而备受青睐,他们的争讼能力闻名遐迩,从破产管理人(IP)那里获得了大量委托授权,并获得了国际律师事务所的转介工作,为香港的跨境事务提供咨询。泰德威律师(Ian De Witt)戴乐斌律师(Robin Darton)被称为“香港最杰出的两位破产/重组律师”,拥有“非凡的、全方位的经验”,而2019年晋升的合伙人Sunny Hathiramani在较为初级的职位上,也因一系列企业与个人的破产重组案件而赢得盛誉。

2020 《钱伯斯亚太法律指南》

泰德威是一家享有盛誉的香港独立律师事务所,特别在高风险的有争议的破产诉讼案件方面声名远扬,经常处理大型复杂的本地诉讼案件,客户包括深陷困境的企业及清算人;对于香港与内地之间的跨境重组和非讼事宜处理起来也游刃有余。

“全所上下对待工作皆采用商业加务实的方式方法,目标是为客户找到正确的解决方案。”其团队以本地工作闻名,被称赞为“该所在香港的破产管理人中享有很高的声誉”

“他们的账单清楚地列在费用说明中,对于非计费项目,则按收费时间合理扣减。”

“他们的费用安排非常灵活”。

戴乐斌律师 (Robin Darton)以其破产诉讼能力而享有盛誉,并且能够就非讼事项向客户提供法律意见。一位受访者评论说:“他的诉讼知识是无人能比的。他非常实操,对客户的需求有很好的了解。”

一位受访者形容泰德威律师 (Ian De Witt) 说:“对于破产法,他就是书写圣经的人之一”。他还补充说:“有关破产的法律事务,他就是一本活字典。”他经常就诉讼事务提供建议,并且经常把陷入困境的公司、清算人和债券托管人算作他的客户。一位市场评论员指出:“他是一双安全的手,是一个真正想到案件引起的那些问题的人,并且他对破产法有着百科全书般的理解。

请注意:

与泰德威律师事务所在电邮沟通之前(或通过其他方式), 请阅读此连结內的免责声明及此连结內的隐私政策。免责声明和隐私政策亦列于本网站的注脚內。 在您收到我们的书面声明确认我们将代表您处理该案件之前,您不应向我们发送任何有关该案件的机密资料。 于我们接受代理该案件后, 我们将接受您发送有关该案件的机密资料, 之后我们可以亳无障碍地交换机密资料。 感谢您对泰德威律师事务所的关注。

免责声明隐私政策

Please note:

Before you contact Tanner De Witt by email (or otherwise), please read the Disclaimer at this link. and our Privacy Policy at this link. The Disclaimer and Privacy Policy is also at the footer of this website. Until we have informed you in writing that we represent you as a client you should not send us any confidential information. We will only accept your confidential information when we confirm we represent you as a client, and then we can exchange confidential information freely. Thank you for your interest in Tanner De Witt.

Disclaimer and Privacy Policy

Insolvency and Restructuring Hong Kong

 

Tanner De Witt Solicitors is ranked as a Tier 1 / Band 1 law firm in the field of insolvency and restructuring in Hong Kong by leading industry publications including Legal 500 and Chambers & Partners. Our lawyers specialise in a wide spectrum of insolvency administrations, complex restructurings and bankruptcies involving global assets, with a particular emphasis on contentious and court-related issues.

While Tanner De Witt is an independent Hong Kong law firm, our Insolvency and Restructuring lawyers act for many international clients involved in multi-jurisdictional and high profile matters. We provide legal advice and representation to insolvency practitioners, creditors, directors, shareholders, private and listed companies, bondholders, and individuals facing cash flow difficulties and have experience with a wide range of specialist tribunals and professional associations.

 

 

Tanner De Witt Solicitors provides Insolvency and Restructuring legal solutions to clients involved in a diverse range of industries in Hong Kong, the People’s Republic of China and throughout the Asia Pacific Region.

We advise and act on:

 

 

Examples of our lawyers’ wide experience include:

  • Lead counsel on the complex restructuring of Kaisa Group‘s offshore debt amounting to over $2.5bn.
  • Acted for KPMG as the liquidators of the Hong Kong arm of OW Bunker Group, advising on numerous issues associated with its insolvency proceedings.
  • Advised KPMG as the liquidators of MF Global, which includes representation at hearings on issues such as the ad valorem duty payable by provisional liquidators and the treatment of costs incurred by liquidators.
  • The firm played a pivotal role in connection with the appointment of provisional liquidators to Oasis Hong Kong Airlines, and was instructed by the provisional liquidators in all aspects of this multi-faceted administration, which has presented some unique challenges given the international scope of the Oasis business and the high-profile nature of the collapse.
  • Successfully acting in what is now the leading case of an unfair preference action in a “non-associate” case where the firm acted for the liquidators against a receiver holding the proceeds of certain assets that were “preferred” to the company’s bankers.
  • Advising the receivers appointed in respect of an online trading company selling CDs and DVDs following a much-publicised judgment against the company in the UK for some £40 million. Notwithstanding the UK judgment, the receivers successfully concluded a sale of the company’s assets following a period of trading under receivership, a rare event in Hong Kong.
  • Assisting receivers appointed by the Jersey Court over a Jersey trust in taking legal action in Hong Kong to secure control over entities within the trust structure in an effort to enable court-ordered payments of several million pounds to be made to a disenfranchised beneficiary of the trust, in connection with a long-running and high-profile matrimonial matter in Hong Kong concerning a jewellery trading family.
  • Advising a US-based manufacturer of retail electronic products in connection with difficulties arising with its Hong Kong and PRC partners, concerning indebtedness of in excess of US$70 million.

Insolvency and Restructuring – Our International Network

As a top Hong Kong law firm, Tanner De Witt Solicitors has established relationships with overseas professional services providers, including offshore law firms and major international liquidators. This international network of experts is easily accessible by our lawyers ensuring clients receive fully integrated advice concerning their often multi-jurisdictional and complex matters.

Insolvency and Restructuring – Our Hong Kong Lawyers

The Insolvency and Restructuring practice at Tanner De Witt Solicitors is co-led by Ian De Witt and Robin Darton, both of whom are ranked as top lawyers in the field by various publications including Legal 500 and Chambers & Partners.

 

 

Legal 500 Asia Pacific 2020

One of the top insolvency teams in the market’, the three-partner team at Tanner De Witt is highly in demand as a result of its ‘specialised experience combined with practical advice’. Best-known for its contentious prowess, the team receives a raft of mandates from insolvency practitioners (IPs), as well as referral work from international law firms to advise on the Hong Kong aspects of cross-border matters. ‘Two of the most prominent insolvency/restructuring lawyers in Hong Kong’, Ian De Witt and Robin Darton have ‘great all-round experience’, while 2019 promoted partner Sunny Hathiramani has a flourishing reputation at a more junior level across a range of insolvency and restructuring issues, in relation to both companies and individuals.

Chambers and Partners Asia 2020

Well-established independent Hong Kong firm with a strong reputation, particularly in relation to high-stakes contentious insolvency cases. Regularly handles large, complex domestic litigations and clients include distressed companies and liquidators. Also able to handle cross-border Hong Kong–Mainland China restructurings as well as non-contentious matters.

The firm as a whole has a commercial and pragmatic approach to its work aimed at finding the right solution for the client.” The team is known for its local work, and is praised as “highly regarded by the insolvency practitioners in Hong Kong.

Their bills are clearly set out in their fee notes, with reasonable deductions for non-billable items on time charged.”

They are very flexible on fee arrangements.”

Robin Darton has an outstanding reputation for his insolvency litigation practice and is also able to advise clients with regard to non-contentious matters. One interviewee comments: “His litigation knowledge is unsurpassed by others. He’s very hands-on and has a good understanding of what the client wants.”

Ian De Witt is described as “one of the bible writers for insolvency law” by one source who adds: “He’s a walking dictionary on legal matters relating to insolvency.”“He often advises on contentious matters and counts distressed companies, liquidators and bond trustees among his clients. A market commentator notes: “He’s a safe pair of hands, he’s someone who really thinks of the problems that the cases give rise to and he’s got an almost encyclopaedic understanding of insolvency law.