劳动雇佣

 

简介

在过去20年中,泰德威律师事务所曾代理多几宗在香港广为报道的重大案件,并经常受雇主、商业团体和人力资源专业人士邀请成为发言嘉宾。
我们曾为许多大雇主、高管和知名雇员提供代理服务,涉及的行业领域十分广泛,包括银行与金融、保险、出版、制造、及专业服务。
通过我们的经验和知识,我们的目标是为客户提供优质、成本效益高、具有商业性的法律意见。此外,通过我们的经验,我们还可以就最佳实践方式为客户提供战术性及常识性指引,以确保客户在绩效管理、奖励与竞业限制结构、退出策略、调解等方面获得最佳整体结果。

 

泰德威在就香港劳动雇佣及相关问题提供法律意见方面经验十分丰富。我们经常就以下事务提供法律意见:

  • 雇佣合同、借调和手册
  • 终止雇佣关系与权利
  • 裁员、减员和分离,包括分离协议
  • 因推定解雇、不合理、不当或非法解雇提出的申索(包括在怀孕和其他禁止的情形)
  • 薪酬福利,包括激励方案和奖金安排
  • 限制性契约、强制执行和可执行性
  • 禁令救济(包括跳板禁制令、容许查察令和禁诉令)
  • 劳资审裁处申索
  • 涉及劳动雇佣和股东问题的区法院和高等法院行动
  • 保密
  • 个人资料私隐
  • 歧视与骚扰问题争议

 

 

我们的案例示例包括:

  • 在一宗禁令诉讼中成功为一位高管辩护,法院驳回对方提出的强制执行为期12个月的竞业禁止协议申请
  • 在一宗由前雇主提出的索赔诉讼中成功为四名高管辩护。案中,前雇主指控四名高管违反合同和诚信义务,并寻求强制执行限制性条款:Cantor Fitzgerald Europe及其他诉Boyer & Ors(未报导,2011年HCA 1160号,2012年2月29日)
  • 在一宗由前雇主提出的索赔诉讼中成功为两名同业经纪商辩护。在此案中,前雇主指称奖金支付应计入代通知金:ICAP (Hong Kong) Limited 诉 Elaine Chan及 Kwok Chi Leung (2007年HCA 636号和637号) [2010] HKEC 2012
  • 就一家香港上市公司及其附属公司对其雇员涉嫌违反诚信义务及转移商机提出的索赔及可寻求的补救措施提供法律建议,协助客户取得解决该问题的商业解决方案
  • 在一宗由前雇主提出的索赔诉讼中为一位资深保险经纪及保险经纪事务所代理辩护,案中涉及多种形式的禁令救济的主张。
  • 代理一家中小企业起诉多名一同加入竞争对手公司的前雇员,并为该企业取得“跳板”禁制令: Slik Hong Kong Company Limited 诉 Gerald Merlyn Rhoslyn Evans及其他 (HCA 1424/2005) [2005] HKEC 1730
  • 为同业经纪商服务公司就香港新业务需聘用准雇员的相关雇佣事宜提供法律建议,包括草拟雇佣合同、解雇函以就前雇主提出的指称索赔提出争议及予以解决
  • 为不同重要的金融机构、对冲基金、保险公司和上市公司的董事、首席执行官、首席财务官以及其他高管就雇佣合同和分离职协议提供意见并商议协议条款
  • 定期为雇主和雇员个人就香港雇佣问题提供咨询服务,包括限制性契约的可执行性和禁令救济的可行性、违反保密与诚信义务、离职协议、终止权利、遵守《雇佣条例》、《个人资料(私隐)条例》 和《反歧视条例》以及上述条例所赋予的补救

 

 

2020《亚太法律500强》

作为一家独立律师事务所,由两位泰德威合伙人共同领导的劳动雇佣团队深深扎根于本地市场,就所有影响本地雇主及其中高层管理人员的各种劳动雇佣事务提供“优异服务”。得益于其独立地位,该所获得了大量转介工作以及定期的直接指示,尤其是来自金融服务行业的客户。该团队以其争讼专业知识而闻名,在这方面,“反应非常敏捷”的彭伟信律师(Russell Bennett)具有“深度经验”,不仅因其在法院和法庭上的强有力代表、而且也因其“愿意探索庭外和解的选择”而受到客户的赞赏。白梅律师(Kim Boreham)则凭借她的诉讼背景,在代表香港客户处理禁令申请、执行限制性契约和其他争讼性雇佣事务方面积累了丰富的经验。

2020《钱伯斯亚太法律指南》

实力强大的争讼劳动雇佣团队具有卓越的专业知识,代表雇员处理一些引人瞩目的诉讼案件。该团队在处理个人在香港受雇事务方面十分活跃,包括为外籍家庭佣工提供无偿援助。此外,还就香港与内地之间的雇员调动、工作政策、合同与雇佣后的竞业限制等为雇主提供法律意见。对与种族、残疾与性别歧视、以及白领犯罪调查的案件方面高度活跃。

总的来说,我认为该律所在调解方面很务实。

白梅律师(Kim Boreham)因其“极其专业,在如何利用调解达成和解方面非常有条理、考虑透彻”而赢得客户赞誉。她作为诉讼律师代表雇员处理与欠薪和遣散费、不当解雇及其它雇员投诉事项,备受尊敬。

彭伟信律师 (Russell Bennett)被业界称为“非常资深”以及“为了客户工作非常努力”。在劳动雇佣纠纷方面他的业务非常强,主要是就雇佣终止纠纷和骚扰索赔提供法律意见,他亦无偿为雇员辩护。

请注意:

与泰德威律师事务所在电邮沟通之前(或通过其他方式), 请阅读此连结內的免责声明及此连结內的隐私政策。免责声明和隐私政策亦列于本网站的注脚內。 在您收到我们的书面声明确认我们将代表您处理该案件之前,您不应向我们发送任何有关该案件的机密资料。 于我们接受代理该案件后, 我们将接受您发送有关该案件的机密资料, 之后我们可以亳无障碍地交换机密资料。 感谢您对泰德威律师事务所的关注。

免责声明隐私政策

Please note:

Before you contact Tanner De Witt by email (or otherwise), please read the Disclaimer at this link. and our Privacy Policy at this link. The Disclaimer and Privacy Policy is also at the footer of this website. Until we have informed you in writing that we represent you as a client you should not send us any confidential information. We will only accept your confidential information when we confirm we represent you as a client, and then we can exchange confidential information freely. Thank you for your interest in Tanner De Witt.

Disclaimer and Privacy Policy

Online meetings only. Read more

Employment Law Hong Kong

 

Tanner De Witt has acted in several of the leading reported cases in Hong Kong over the last 12 years and are regular speakers to employers, business groups and human resource professionals.

We act for many major employers as well as senior executives and high profile employees in a wide range of industry sectors including banking and finance, insurance, publishing, manufacturing and professional services.

Through our experience and knowledge we aim to provide quality, cost-effective and commercial legal advice. Further, through our experience we are also able to offer tactical and common sense guidance on best practice to ensure the best overall result for the client, including issues such as performance management, rewards and restriction structures, exit strategies and mediation.

 

 

Tanner De Witt has considerable experience advising on Hong Kong employment law and related issues. The types of matters on which we regularly advise include:

  • Terminations and entitlements
  • Redundancy, retrenchment and separation, including separation agreements
  • Claims for constructive dismissal, unreasonable, wrongful or unlawful dismissal (including during pregnancy and in other prohibited circumstances)
  • Remuneration and benefits, including incentive schemes and bonus arrangements
  • Employment contracts, secondments and handbooks
  • Restrictive covenants, enforcement and enforceability
  • Injunctive relief (including springboard, anton piller and anti-suit injunctions)
  • Labour Tribunal claims
  • District and High Court actions involving employment and shareholder issues
  • Confidentiality
  • Personal data privacy
  • Discrimination and harassment issues

 

 

Examples of our experience include:

  • Successfully defending a senior executive in injunction proceedings and obtaining dismissal of application for enforcement of a 12 month non-compete covenant.
  • Successfully defending four senior executives in a claim brought by their former employer, alleging breaches of contract and fiduciary duty and seeking enforcement of restrictive covenants: Cantor Fitzgerald Europe & Ors v Boyer & (Unreported, HCA1160/2011, 29 February 2012).
  • Successfully defending two inter-dealer brokers against claims brought by their former employer, alleging bonus payments should have been included in calculation of payment in lieu: ICAP (Hong Kong) Limited v Elaine Chan & Kwok Chi Leung (HCA 636 and 637/2007) [2010] HKEC 2012.
  • Advising a Hong Kong listed entity and subsidiary regarding claims and remedies to be sought from employee relating to suspected breaches of fiduciary duty and diversion of business opportunities and assisting Clients to obtain a commercial resolution of matter.
  • Acting for a senior insurance broker and insurance brokerage firm in defending a claim brought by his former employer involving claims for various forms of injunctive relief.
    Acting for a SME against a group of former Hong Kong employees who left en masse to join a competitor, in which a “springboard” injunction was obtained for the company: Slik Hong Kong Company Limited v Gerald Merlyn Rhoslyn Evans & Others (HCA 1424/2005) [2005] HKEC 1730.
  • Advising inter-dealer broking firms on employment issues arising in relation to hire of prospective employees for new business in Hong Kong, including drafting of employment contracts, termination letters and disputing and resolving alleged claims raised by former employers.
  • Advising on and negotiating employment contracts and separation agreements for directors, CEOs, CFOs, and other senior executives of various leading financial institutions, hedge funds, insurance companies and listed entities.
  • Regularly advising employers and individual employees on Hong Kong employment issues including enforceability of restrictive covenants and availability of injunctive relief, breaches of confidentiality and fiduciary duty, severance agreements, termination entitlements, and compliance with and remedies available under the Employment, Personal Data (Privacy) and Anti-Discrimination Ordinances.

 

 

Legal 500 Asia Pacific 2020

Deeply entrenched in the local market, independent law firm Tanner De Witt’s two-partner team provides ‘excellent service‘ across the spectrum of employment matters impacting local employers and their mid-senior level executives. By dint of its independent status, the firm receives a significant amount of referral work as well as a regular flow of direct instructions, in particular from clients in the financial services industry. The team is best-known for its contentious expertise, and in this respect the ‘very responsiveRussell Bennett has ‘in-depth experience‘ and is appreciated by clients not only for his robust representation before the courts and tribunals but also his ‘willingness to explore options to settle out of court‘. Leveraging her litigation background, Kim Boreham has extensive experience representing clients in the Hong Kong courts in relation to injunction applications, enforcement of restrictive covenants and other contentious employment issues.

Chambers and Partners Asia 2020

Strong contentious employment team with notable expertise representing employees in high-profile litigation cases. Active on matters involving individuals employed in Hong Kong, including supporting foreign domestic workers on a pro bono basis. Also advises employers on the transfer of employees to and from the PRC, work policies, contracts and post-employment restrictions. Highly active on cases related to race, disability and sex discrimination, and white-collar crime investigations.

“In general, I see the firm as pragmatic when it comes to mediation.”

Kim Boreham wins praise from a client for being “extremely professional, and very structured and thought-through in how she uses mediation to get a settlement.” She is held in high esteem for her work as a litigator representing employees on matters relating to unpaid wages and severance payments, wrongful dismissals and other employee complaints.

Russell Bennett is described by market sources as “very senior” and “very hard-working for clients.” He maintains a strong employment disputes practice, primarily advising on termination disputes and harassment claims, as well as pro bono employee defence work.