公众利益和平等权利

简介

公众利益和平等权利(PIER)部门专门从事争议方面的相关工作,如民权诉讼、歧视、LGBT平等权利、儿童保护和医疗失职等。我们的很多案件都并非单一争议案,而是涉及数项法律争议,涉及包括刑事、家事、劳动雇佣、入境以及破产或清算等多个专业领域。

我们在选择PIER业务的客户时,更注重客户对本行服务的需求以及与其索赔相关的因由,而不甚看重客户的财力。PIER部门诉讼工作的重点是就法律而提出异议、推进或保留法律条款,以保护少数群体或个人的法律权利,推进更广泛的社会、政府或经济影响和改革。我们曾为诸多面临法律争议的客户作代理,这些争议涉及他们在《香港人权法案》、《基本法》、四条反歧视条例(即《性别歧视条例》)下的法定权利以及提起司法复核。

我们希望PIER部门的努力,无论是推动修改法律、政策或实务、揭露不公还是提高公众意识,都能推动积极的变革。PIER部门还与基层组织、非政府组织和民间团体联络,在确有需要的领域提供信息、培训和援助,并探究日后须予以关注的新领域。

法律领域

1. 民事诉讼

2. 外来工人问题

3. 妇女及儿童法律

4. 民权诉讼

5. 政策工作

此处查看业务能力声明

多元化

泰德威是全港规模最大的独立律所之一。我们秉持核心价值观,尊重且公平对待我们的员工,以及所有专业领域的客户。我们不会因为性别、性取向或背景等因素而歧视他人,我们也期望我们的客户能够尊重泰德威的多元化、包容以及非歧视理念(此处可查看完整声明)。

我们为能够提供价格相宜、务实的法律服务而倍感自豪。与其他香港律师事务所无异,我们的服务是按时收费的。在某些案件中,我们可以商议其他替代性收费方案,并乐意与您探讨涉及第三方的创新融资解决方案(包括法律援助)(见此处),前提是此做法香港司法管辖区内为合法行为。

典型案例

  • 曾就一位女性银行高管针对某美国银行提起的涉及性别歧视和性骚扰的申索提供法律咨询,双方成功达成和解;
  • 曾就一间香港教育机构解雇其一名女员工以及就因其受雇产生的索赔达成和解,为该教育机构提供法律咨询,此案涉及对《残疾歧视条例》等争议点的考虑;
  • 曾为一名寻求庇护的移民者提供有关其作为暴力犯罪受害者之权利的咨询和援助;
  • 曾就一位女性高管针对一间领先的香港机构提出的涉及种族歧视指称及单方面更改合同的索赔,为该高管客户提供咨询,双方成功达成和解;
  • 曾为根据《联合国禁止酷刑和其他残忍、不人道或有辱人格的待遇或处罚公约》寻求免予遣返回国的申索人或难民提供咨询;
  • 曾为在向雇主送达怀孕通知后被解雇的一名已怀孕外籍家庭佣工代理;
  • 曾为在受雇期间遭遇性别歧视问题的一位变性者代理;
  • 曾在一宗歧视案件中,就一对同性婚姻伴侣要求享有配偶权益的主张为其代理;
  • 儿童权利、儿童保护以及监护权案件;
  • 曾就刑事和警方事宜为少年犯代理;
  • 曾对影响《香港人权法案》下同性伴侣的政府决策进行司法复核;
  • 曾就雇主在《性别歧视条例》、《种族歧视条例》以及《残疾歧视条例》下对员工负有的义务,而向其提供咨询;
  • 曾为一位媒体客户就其在《香港人权法案》下的言论自由权遭到侵犯事宜作代理;
  • 曾为一家非政府组织代理一宗案情史无前例的监护案件。

他们提出实际可行的建议,反应迅速,所提供的服务也非常值得信赖。

— 《钱伯斯亚太法律指南》

Public Interest and Equal Rights

About

The PIER Group specialises in issue-oriented work such as civil rights litigation, discrimination, LGBT equality rights, child protection and medical malpractice. Many of our cases are not single issue cases but engage several legal issues across a number of practice areas that can include criminal, family, employment, immigration and bankruptcy or insolvency.

Clients of the PIER Group are selected with more emphasis on their need for the firm’s services and the cause their claim relates to with less of an emphasis on the client’s financial means. The litigation work of the PIER Group focuses on challenging, advancing or retaining laws with a view to safeguarding the legal rights of minority groups or individuals and advancing a strategy of broader social, governmental or economic impact and reform. We represent a number of clients facing legal issues that engage their legal rights under: the Bill of Rights, the Basic Law and the four anti-discrimination ordinances (i.e., the Sex Discrimination Ordinance) as well as bringing Judicial Reviews.

It is hoped that through the work of the PIER Group that positive change will result, whether by way of changes to law, policy or practice, exposing injustice or simply raising public awareness. The PIER Group also liaises with grassroots organisations, NGO’s and civil society to provide information, training and assistance in demonstrated areas of need, and to identify new areas in which to direct future attention.

Areas of law

1.    Civil litigation
2.    Migrant workers’ issues
3.    Women and children’s law
4.    Civil rights litigation
5.    Policy work

View the Capability Statement here.

Diversity

Tanner De Witt is one of the largest independent law firms in Hong Kong. Our core values include respect and fairness towards our employees and all clients across all practice areas. We do not discriminate based on factors such as gender, sexuality or background and in turn expect that our clients are respectful of Tanner De Witt’s policy of diversity, inclusion and non-discrimination (you can view the full statement here).

We pride ourselves on our ability to provide practical, cost-effective advice. As is usual for lawyers in Hong Kong, we generally charge clients on the basis of time spent. In certain cases we can agree alternative pricing structures and provided that it is lawful within the jurisdiction of Hong Kong we are prepared to work with you on innovative funding solutions involving third parties including Legal Aid (see here).

Our Experience

  • Advising a banking executive in relation to the successful resolution of her claim against a US bank regarding sex discrimination and sexual harassment;
  • Advising a Hong Kong educational institution in relation to the termination of an employee and settlement of claims arising from her employment involving consideration of issues including the Disability Discrimination Ordinance;
  • Advising and supporting a migrant asylum seeker regarding their rights as a victim of a violent crime;
  • Advising a senior executive in relation to the successful resolution of her claim against a leading Hong Kong financial institution involving allegations of race discrimination and unilateral variation of contract;
  • Advising claimants or refugees seeking protection from refoulement to their home countries under the UN Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment;
  • Acting for a pregnant foreign domestic worker who was terminated after serving their notice of pregnancy on their employer;
  • Acting for a transgender person facing sex discrimination issues encountered in the course of their employment;
  • Acting for a same sex married couple with regard to their claim for entitlement to spousal benefits and entitlements in a discrimination case;
  • Children’s rights, protection of children and wardship cases;
  • Acting for young offenders with respect to criminal matters and police;
  • Judicial Review of government decisions affecting same sex couples under the Bill of Rights;
  • Advising employers on their obligation toward employees under the Sex Discrimination Ordinance and the Race Discrimination Ordinance and the Disability Discrimination Ordinance;
  • Acting for a media client regarding infringement of freedom of expression per the Bill of Rights;
  • Unprecedented wardship case for an NGO.